Our Voices The Orinam Blog

Blog archives

Contacts for Media covering 377

MEDIA: To request more contacts, especially in cities or languages not listed, please contact Minal: minal@minalhajratwala.com, Bangalore +91 99451 36640, San Francisco +001 415 937 1646. Parents and family contacts can be made available upon request. All requests must be sent to Minal.

The following LGBT community members and allies are available for interviews.

The list below is arranged by location. India phone numbers should be preceded by 011-91 if dialing from the United States. Fluency in regional languages is indicated in [brackets].

NOTE: This is a partial list and these individuals speak only for themselves. Please see http://orinam.net/377/ for continuing updates,  including official statements from organizations, and http://orinam.net/377/contacts-media-covering-377/  for the latest version of this list.  


INDIA

DELHI

  • Arvind Narrain, advocate, Alternative Law Foundation – anarrain@gmail.com 99800 10933
  • Shaleen Rakesh – Naz Foundation; original petitioner on behalf of Naz Foundation in 2001 – shaleen.rakesh@gmail.com – 98018 56058
  • Gautam Bhan  – coauthor of Because I Have a Voice: Queer Politics in India –gautam.bhan@gmail.com – 99539 51219
  • Minna Saran – signatory to the petition by parents of LGBT Indians against Section 377 –  98715 80628
  • Aditya Bondyopadhyay – adit.bond@gmail.com – 98111 70181
  • Ritu – 99999 77272
  • Deepti – deelited@gmail.com 98990 19750
  • Shohini Ghosh – shohini.ghosh@gmail.com –  98180 88378
  • Svati P. Shah – Fulbright Scholar – svatipshah@gmail.com – 9004987120
  • K Rahul Sharma – Researcher, TERI; Co-Founder, QueerCampus; member of Delhi Queer Pride Committee – rahulsharma188@gmail.com – +91 9871907177 [Hindi]
  • Abhina Aher – Programme Manager, Pehchan India HIV/AIDS Alliance – www.allianceindia.org – aaher@allianceindia.org; abheena.aher@gmail.com – 09711170763 [Marathi, Hindi]
  • Shiv Sahoo – Academic coordinator, Alliance Française de Delhi – shivarkl@gmail.com – +91 9990226545 [Hindi, Odiya, Bengali, French]
  • Manak – Delhi Queer Pride Committee; Leading Must Bol campaign against gender-based violence – manakmatiyani@gmail.com – 9560100255 [Hindi, Punjabi]
  • Mohnish Malhotra – 09891228951 [Hindi, Punjabi]
  • Vinay Kumar – founder of Harmless Hugs support group; vp of Society of Universe Lovers (an ngo by LGBT people)  in Noida –  vinaykr7891@gmail.com – 9818854408 [Hindi]

MUMBAI

  • Vikram Doctor – journalist – vikdoc@gmail.com – 98213 29037
  • Chayanika Shah – Lesbians And Bisexuals In Action –chayanikashah@gmail.com – 98193 56365 [Marathi]
  • Ankit Bhuptani – founder of The Gay and Lesbian Vaishnav Association, Mumbai – krishnas.ankit@gmail.com – +91 9920879663 [Hindi, Gujarati]
  • Harish Iyer – LGBTIQ rights, child rights, animal rights, women’s rights – harish.iyer@Hotmail.com – 9833100340 [Tamil, Hindi]
  • Sonal Giani – Advocacy Officer – The Humsafar Trust, Core Member- Yaariyan (LGBT Youth Group), Core Member (Umang- LBT Support Group) – sonal.aamu@gmail.com – +91 9920560011 [Hindi]
  • Kanishka Chaudhry – Queer Azaadi Mumbai; Sing A Smile – kanishkachaudhry@gmail.com – +91-9920947760 [Hindi]
  • Prasad Bhide – corporate sector – jaan.bhide@gmail.com – +91 9820714281 [Marathi]
  • Bhushan Kulkarni – Queer Azaadi Mumbai – bhushanindia12341@gmail.com – +91-9820874579 [Marathi, Hindi]
  • Sridhar Rangayan – KASHISH Mumbai International Queer Film Festival – sridhar.rangayan@gmail.com – [Hindi]
  • Geeta Kumana – businesswoman / human rights activist – 9819930019 – geeta.kumana@gmail.com [Hindi, Gujarati]

CHENNAI

BANGALORE

  • Gowthaman Ranganathan, Alternative Law Foundation, 97398 41724 gowthaman.ranganathan@gmail.com
  • Akkai Padmashali, 99800 42532 akkaipadmashali@gmail.com
  • Manohar Elavarthi 963222 3460 manoharban@gmail.com
  • Vinay Chandran, Swabhava Trust, 9844181294 vinu228@yahoo.com
  • Shubha Chacko, Aneka, 81977 71372
  • Minal Hajratwala – author; editor of Out! Stories from the New Queer India — 99451 36640 – minal@minalhajratwala.com
  • Harshavardhan Goel – Student, National Law School of India – 80956 01667 – hvg1126@gmail.com
  • Shyam – founder of “Mist” LGBT collective – Samuel.konnur@gmail.com- 9742868503 [Hindi, Kannada]
  •  Sukhdeep Singh – Gaylaxy magazine – editor@gaylaxymag.com  – 9740579894,  7204290964  [Hindi, Punjabi]

HYDERABAD

  • Kaveri Karthik – 8179542651 –  kaveri82@yahoo.com

AHMEDABAD

  • Dhaval Shah – dhavalsh@yahoo.com – 90990 24458 [Gujarati]
  • Sakhi Shah – Student, National Law School of India – sakhisshah@gmail.com – 8884218031 [Gujarati]

KOLKATA

  • Malobika – Sappho for Equality – 98301 27146
  • Agniva Lahiri – executive director of People Like Us (PLUS) –agnivalahiri@yahoo.com  [Bengali]
  • Kaushik Gupta – Lawyer, High Court at Calcutta – gupta.kaushik@gmail.com – 9331042320 [Bengali]
  • Ranjita Sinha – Secretary of Gokhale Road Bandhan – community activist – ranjitbandhan69@rediffmail.com/ranjita666@gmail.com – 9830027185 [Hindi, Bengali]

NAGPUR

LUCKNOW

UK

  • Dr Matthew Waites – University of Glasgow;  published article on 377 in International Journal of Human Rights – Matthew.Waites@glasgow.ac.uk – +44 (0)141 330 4049

CANADA

TORONTO

  • Ponni Arasu – queer activist, lawyer, researcher – mailponni@gmail.com –  647 772 5453

SOUTH AFRICA

USA

NEW YORK/NEW JERSEY

  • Charles Radcliffe – Chief, Global Issues Section, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human RightsUnited Nations – radcliffe@un.org –  212 963 4953
  • Ms. Eri Kaneko – Associate Spokesperson for the United Nations Secretary-General – kaneko@un.org –  1-917-367-5266 / 1-917-806-0248
  • Shridhar Sadasivan, writer and Orinam volunteer/editor –ShridharSadasivan@gmail.com [Tamil-English translator] –  973-216-4302

WASHINGTON, DC

  • Sapna Pandya – KhushDC; Co-founder, Humsafar International –sapna.pandya@gmail.com – 202-641-8207
  • Mala Nagarajan – community activist –  mala@vegamala.org – 206-696-6754 – plaintiff in Washington State marriage equality lawsuit, married to wife in Hindu ceremony
  • Harjant S Gill – professor & filmmaker, “Milind Soman Made Me Gay” –  HGill@towson.edu – 202-257-2999

SAN FRANCISCO

  • Abhay Prasad – editor of Trikone magazine – abhay5ue@gmail.com-  415 613 7843
  • Rajat Dutta – organizer of fundraising campaign <Funding377NoGoingBack@gmail.com>; past board member of Trikone – rajatlist@gmail.com – 415 218 1010 [Hindi]
  • Ramakrishnan Kazhiyur-Mannar – 650-762-5396 –km.ramki@gmail.com

BOSTON


MEDIA: To request more contacts, especially in cities or languages not listed, please send your request to:  
Minal Hajratwala, minal@minalhajratwala.com, Bangalore 99451 36640, San Francisco 415 937 1646

Comments

No comment. Add your own »

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

Trackback Address »

Leave a comment

Comment Guidelines: Your email address will not displayed. Your comment may be held up for moderation. Language that is deemed unsuitable for decent discussion will be expunged. Avoid pasting raw URLs or large quotations from elsewhere. The opinions expressed here are those of the respective individuals. We reserve the right to take down irrelevant and improper comments without any notice.